Author Topic: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?  (Read 2325 times)

Offline lostreaper

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
  • Country: gb
  • Poor Rocket Scientist who owns 1st Gen iPhone
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 2G
  • My Computer: Windows
Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« on: September 21, 2014, 07:57:59 PM »
Hi,

Something (probably) related to WhiteD00r 7 makes a connection when the phone rebooted and downloads something (might be an ad), and if the wifi is broken, that something costs money.

There is no visible thingy on the screen so I cannot tell what it is. Since I have no backgrounder, it cannot be an app or any other tweak that I use for years.

Charged units: 62.361 KB

It's always 60ish kb. My network sends flash sms to inform me, that's where I got that value.

Is there any way to see what actually make the connection?

Thx!
« Last Edit: October 31, 2014, 07:39:53 AM by Bruan »

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Something makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2014, 10:56:36 PM »
Hi,

Something (probably) related to WhiteD00r 7 makes a connection when the phone rebooted and downloads something (might be an ad), and if the wifi is broken, that something costs money.

There is no visible thingy on the screen so I cannot tell what it is. Since I have no backgrounder, it cannot be an app or any other tweak that I use for years.

Charged units: 62.361 KB

It's always 60ish kb. My network sends flash sms to inform me, that's where I got that value.

Is there any way to see what actually make the connection?

Thx!

Odd, I don't know what that would be. The only things I know that make a connection at some point would be Sara/Siri (server connection), and maybe the iOS 7 App Switcher (although it shouldn't do...).  Also the App Time Machine, but that is for activating it on the device, and should only be done once and not at launch of the device.

Perhaps Sara/Siri has a daemon it uses, which I didn't know about so I didn't disable it with the toggle for it in the settings :o

You could use a network sniffer/packet capture tool like Wireshark to see what it tries to connect to.  However, that won't help if the wifi is broken...

The system may log the connection in /var/log/syslog.

can you upload the contents of /var/mobile/daemonList after running these commands in terminal please?
Code: [Select]
su
alpine
launchctl list >> /var/mobile/daemonList

That way I can see if I see anything overly obvious that would be making that connection at startup daemon wise, if all tweaks are disabled.
The only tweaks I didn't personally send the version of them off was Sara/Siri and the iOS 7 App Switcher, and also the safari unibar - all others were either made by or helped in part by me, or from older whited00r versions which are clean AFAIK.

Offline lostreaper

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
  • Country: gb
  • Poor Rocket Scientist who owns 1st Gen iPhone
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 2G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Something makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2014, 08:28:10 PM »
Hi,

Sara is disabled, iOS 7 App Switcher is enabled. But if it makes the connection then I can disable it as I don't want to pay ~$1.5 on every reboot.

I even cleared the APN settings to avoid the cellular (edge) connection but no luck, my network accepts any connection regardless of APN settings.

I launched App Time Machine a few times when I installed WD, I never launched it since then.

I've attached the daemonList.

Safari unibar is disabled as well.

Is there any other way to disable all cellular (edge) connection?

Thanks!

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Something makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2014, 07:39:37 AM »
Hi,

Sara is disabled, iOS 7 App Switcher is enabled. But if it makes the connection then I can disable it as I don't want to pay ~$1.5 on every reboot.

I even cleared the APN settings to avoid the cellular (edge) connection but no luck, my network accepts any connection regardless of APN settings.

I launched App Time Machine a few times when I installed WD, I never launched it since then.

I've attached the daemonList.

Safari unibar is disabled as well.

Is there any other way to disable all cellular (edge) connection?

Thanks!

The cellular data disabler must run after whatever makes the connection runs :(

I'm not seeing anything suspicious looking in the daemons though :s

Offline lostreaper

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
  • Country: gb
  • Poor Rocket Scientist who owns 1st Gen iPhone
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 2G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2014, 04:53:07 PM »
In Sbsettings, I use the Edge toggle to disable the connection which sets 127.0.0.1 as data ip. I need this permanent. Is there any easy way to do it?

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2014, 07:20:32 PM »
In Sbsettings, I use the Edge toggle to disable the connection which sets 127.0.0.1 as data ip. I need this permanent. Is there any easy way to do it?

That still does it via a daemon, or else now via mobile substrate but I'm pretty sure it still uses the same method whited00r does for it... You could try a fake APN profile, from Unlockit if I remember correctly.

Offline lostreaper

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
  • Country: gb
  • Poor Rocket Scientist who owns 1st Gen iPhone
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 2G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #6 on: October 31, 2014, 09:28:23 PM »
Or, I could lock it in Preferences.plist like I modded it to use proxy instead on this tutorial: http://www.whited00r.com/forum/index.php/topic,10736

But I need to figure out how to apply it. Do you think I can do it in Preferences.plist or in Proxy.pac that I've already have? And how? (=

Thanks!

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2014, 06:26:52 AM »
I'm not entirely sure there sadly :(  Never actually tried that! :s  (and I don't think anyone else has, as most are okay with the other methods for disabling data).

Offline [email protected]

  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
  • Country: in
  • Old is Smart!
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2014, 03:28:54 PM »
I have something related to support this which i found in my folder crash report i will post it later once i find it
Update:I found it
Code: [Select]
Nov  5 20:06:53 jayanths-iPhone mDNSResponder[22]: mDNSPlatformSendUDP sendto(8) failed to send packet on InterfaceID 00808800   lo0/4 to 224.0.0.251:5353 skt 8 error -1 errno 51 (Network is unreachable) 206193118
« Last Edit: December 01, 2014, 04:03:42 PM by [email protected] »
New Thinking New Possiblities.
Proud owner of the legendary iPhone 3G.
And Proud Owner of the best budget phone Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 and iPad 3

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #9 on: December 04, 2014, 07:24:41 AM »
Not sure what service that is :o  Do you have a custom DNS set up on the device rather than the default one used?  (if you can set one for over cellular data)

Offline [email protected]

  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
  • Country: in
  • Old is Smart!
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #10 on: December 07, 2014, 11:23:14 AM »
Not sure what service that is :o  Do you have a custom DNS set up on the device rather than the default one used?  (if you can set one for over cellular data)
Nope i didnt messup any thing since the fresh install....my phone now is clean and with only iFile installed (will be installing SBSettings shortly)
New Thinking New Possiblities.
Proud owner of the legendary iPhone 3G.
And Proud Owner of the best budget phone Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 and iPad 3

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2014, 08:17:01 AM »
Nope i didnt messup any thing since the fresh install....my phone now is clean and with only iFile installed (will be installing SBSettings shortly)

weird, I really have no idea what that would be! :(

Offline [email protected]

  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
  • Country: in
  • Old is Smart!
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2014, 08:50:09 AM »
Now i found out what makes connection  8) its E-mail :P it would check at every boot ::)
New Thinking New Possiblities.
Proud owner of the legendary iPhone 3G.
And Proud Owner of the best budget phone Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 and iPad 3

Offline iTechy21

  • Bashing the shell
  • Global Moderator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1675
  • Country: gb
  • Well errr... Stuff :3
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #13 on: December 29, 2014, 03:50:22 PM »

Now i found out what makes connection  8) its E-mail :P it would check at every boot ::)
That makes sense :P bit random to do it on boot though...
Follow me on twitter! | Subscribe to my YouTube Channel! | Follow my blog!
Please Read all the stickies if you're new. And follow the rules, please :)

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2014, 06:08:52 PM »
Now i found out what makes connection  8) its E-mail :P it would check at every boot ::)

Well then! Maybe setting it to not check automatically (or even at a scheduled interval) would fix that then? 

Good find though, I would not have thought of that (well, maybe if I saw network logs on my end, which I probably wouldn't as I don't have email on the device).