Author Topic: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?  (Read 2323 times)

Offline lostreaper

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
  • Country: gb
  • Poor Rocket Scientist who owns 1st Gen iPhone
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 2G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #15 on: January 18, 2015, 02:28:59 AM »
Now i found out what makes connection  8) its E-mail :P it would check at every boot ::)

Well, I haven't set up any e-mails, so it cannot be e-mail in my case.

Btw, I thought I already wrote how I fixed it, maybe wrote it in another topic.. Anyways, I had to call my network and have them disable all data connection for my account. However, my phone still does regular connections, gets an ip and sends some data to somewhere. Not only on reboot but also some random time intervals everyday. Sometimes right after respring or after a phone call/text.. sometimes when I wake it up. I got it from the speaker interference noises. But at least my network stopped charging me for those connections, that's the only good thing about this issue ATM.

Guyz, do you think some kinda government organizations are watching/listening to me? NSA? WD Agency? =p
« Last Edit: January 18, 2015, 02:37:42 AM by lostreaper »

Offline [email protected]

  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
  • Country: in
  • Old is Smart!
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #16 on: January 18, 2015, 05:33:48 AM »
Oh? I solved it by removing my email account
Quote
Guyz, do you think some kinda government organizations are watching/listening to me? NSA? WD Agency? =p
Maybe?
WD agency? ??? :)
New Thinking New Possiblities.
Proud owner of the legendary iPhone 3G.
And Proud Owner of the best budget phone Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 and iPad 3

Offline iTechy21

  • Bashing the shell
  • Global Moderator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1675
  • Country: gb
  • Well errr... Stuff :3
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #17 on: January 18, 2015, 09:14:16 PM »
Oh? I solved it by removing my email account Maybe?
WD agency? ??? :)
Where not spying on you. We promise :-X ;)
It may be the activation as I remember matt talking about using something else to check if the firmware had been activated.
But I'm not 100% certain on that as activation should only happen once...
Follow me on twitter! | Subscribe to my YouTube Channel! | Follow my blog!
Please Read all the stickies if you're new. And follow the rules, please :)

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Something in WD7 makes a connection on reboot?
« Reply #18 on: January 20, 2015, 06:05:02 AM »
Well, I haven't set up any e-mails, so it cannot be e-mail in my case.

Btw, I thought I already wrote how I fixed it, maybe wrote it in another topic.. Anyways, I had to call my network and have them disable all data connection for my account. However, my phone still does regular connections, gets an ip and sends some data to somewhere. Not only on reboot but also some random time intervals everyday. Sometimes right after respring or after a phone call/text.. sometimes when I wake it up. I got it from the speaker interference noises. But at least my network stopped charging me for those connections, that's the only good thing about this issue ATM.

Guyz, do you think some kinda government organizations are watching/listening to me? NSA? WD Agency? =p

That is really weird. On startup I could see something in iOS trying to establish connection to somewhere, but randomly throughout the day (except maybe after a crash/respring as that reloads things) is odd. It shouldn't ever be able to connect if you have disabled cell data :o  If it does it in safemode too, then that is something file system and not tweak wise (daemon maybe? or app used?).

Where not spying on you. We promise :-X ;)
It may be the activation as I remember matt talking about using something else to check if the firmware had been activated.
But I'm not 100% certain on that as activation should only happen once...

That is only done in an application which already uses the internet, and only runs once per install... :s  (saves the activated state locally I think - purely for statistics, not to do with the license)