Author Topic: (SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x  (Read 5163 times)

Offline isfiisfar

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
  • Country: pk
  • "i m the weirdest person" says the pakistan times
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
(SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« on: December 11, 2014, 06:32:34 PM »
for those of you who are facing problems with the new update of cydia safe mode substrate .. try uninstalling the current substrate from cydia . then use ifunbox or any other SSh client to reinstall the substrate the .deb of the substrate is provided below
NOTE: deleting the substrate will also delete some of the apps that depend on the substrate so be sure to make a back up of ur apps
after installing the substrate go to the saurik source in cydia look for cydia substrate click modify then click on install...similarly look for other things that are missing

ENJOY!!!
dont use this method unless u know something about iphone cydia and know how to treat your device if anything goes wrong.. other wise i will not be responsible for any of ur loss

Installation Instructions
Done by Bruan
Don't do this if you don't know what to do if your device doesn't boot or work properly after this, but don't worry too much as a restore will fix it anyway in most cases.  None of us are to be held liable if all hell breaks loose and something goes catastrophically wrong.


1. Download the .deb
Get the link at the bottom of this post

2. Get iFunBox or iTools or similar
(or skip this if you already know how to get files from your computer to your device)

3. Copy the .deb from your computer onto /var/mobile on your device

4. Open up terminal
You can skip this and step 5 if you have iFile or something like that, and just use that to install the .deb, and then reboot manually

5. Type in the following commands
Code: [Select]
su
alpine
dpkg -i /var/mobile/com.saurik.substrate*
reboot
You can type the full filename if you want, but this is easier and quicker ;)  (pretty sure it works if memory serves correct)
« Last Edit: December 13, 2014, 06:04:47 AM by Bruan »
i love my ipod 1g
add me on fb https://www.facebook.com/muhmmad.isfar
or kik me @ isfiisfar

Offline isfiisfar

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
  • Country: pk
  • "i m the weirdest person" says the pakistan times
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SLOVED) mobile substrate problem
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2014, 06:58:09 PM »
After the above procedure install preference loader from bigboss repo and then evverything will go back to normal
i love my ipod 1g
add me on fb https://www.facebook.com/muhmmad.isfar
or kik me @ isfiisfar

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: (SLOVED) mobile substrate problem
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2014, 06:35:30 AM »
Thank you for the mini tutorial, very helpful :)   I put in a couple more things on how to install the .deb though, for the less-tech savvy users.

Offline isfiisfar

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
  • Country: pk
  • "i m the weirdest person" says the pakistan times
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SLOVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2014, 03:26:16 PM »
Thank you for the mini tutorial, very helpful :)   I put in a couple more things on how to install the .deb though, for the less-tech savvy users.
bruan please again edit the post for the the note that dont  try if you dont know what to do if you break your device :)
i love my ipod 1g
add me on fb https://www.facebook.com/muhmmad.isfar
or kik me @ isfiisfar

Offline iTechy21

  • Bashing the shell
  • Global Moderator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1675
  • Country: gb
  • Well errr... Stuff :3
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2015, 03:37:31 PM »
Stickied :) as this is important as its a fix without a restore...
Follow me on twitter! | Subscribe to my YouTube Channel! | Follow my blog!
Please Read all the stickies if you're new. And follow the rules, please :)

Offline [email protected]

  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
  • Country: in
  • Old is Smart!
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2015, 09:32:34 AM »
Should I have to reinstall every tweak downloaded from cydia ?
New Thinking New Possiblities.
Proud owner of the legendary iPhone 3G.
And Proud Owner of the best budget phone Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 and iPad 3

Offline iTechy21

  • Bashing the shell
  • Global Moderator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1675
  • Country: gb
  • Well errr... Stuff :3
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2015, 11:56:34 AM »
Should I have to reinstall every tweak downloaded from cydia ?
I just downgraded it using dpkg and didn't remove anything :P
Follow me on twitter! | Subscribe to my YouTube Channel! | Follow my blog!
Please Read all the stickies if you're new. And follow the rules, please :)

Offline [email protected]

  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
  • Country: in
  • Old is Smart!
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2015, 12:47:52 PM »
I just downgraded it using dpkg and didn't remove anything :P
i just installed it via iFile just like you... :P
New Thinking New Possiblities.
Proud owner of the legendary iPhone 3G.
And Proud Owner of the best budget phone Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 and iPad 3

Offline johnngee

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
  • Whited00r iPod iPhone User
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2015, 11:50:52 AM »
Don't know if the cydia updates that i downloaded the other day have caused this but,when i get a missed call on my iphone 3g it goes into black screen ,i get one quick missed call message on screen,it says underneath to swipe but when i do it goes black and does not respond.
Then i have to plug phone into my pc then restore from an older back up via itunes to get it back up and running,i'm pretty new to using smart phones so not great on the teccy side so any help needs to be explained as simply as possible please.

Offline [email protected]

  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 617
  • Country: in
  • Old is Smart!
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2015, 12:18:14 PM »
Hi
Don't know if the cydia updates that i downloaded the other day have caused this but,when i get a missed call on my iphone 3g it goes into black screen ,i get one quick missed call message on screen,it says underneath to swipe but when i do it goes black and does not respond.
Then i have to plug phone into my pc then restore from an older back up via itunes to get it back up and running,i'm pretty new to using smart phones so not great on the teccy side so any help needs to be explained as simply as possible please.
You are right about that !!! recent cydia update lead to the crash
you dont need to restore it!! you could have turned off the device by hard reset method(power button and home button) and then press vol+ while turning it on and then follow this method provided by  isfiisfar and reboot and youll get into whited00r.....
Quote
Then i have to plug phone into my pc then restore from an older back up via itunes to get it back up and running,
You should not restore Whited00r from backup!!!it leads to more bugs....please restore as new!! ;)
New Thinking New Possiblities.
Proud owner of the legendary iPhone 3G.
And Proud Owner of the best budget phone Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 and iPad 3

Offline johnngee

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
  • Whited00r iPod iPhone User
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« Reply #10 on: February 07, 2015, 12:50:07 PM »
so do i follow the guide in the first post?Will a restore as new keep whited00r on my phone or will it reset it to apple ios?
Like i said i am totally new to smart phones so a simple guide to restore to new would be helpfull.

Offline isfiisfar

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
  • Country: pk
  • "i m the weirdest person" says the pakistan times
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« Reply #11 on: February 07, 2015, 01:32:05 PM »
u dont have to restaore ...
just follow the steps in the first post
i love my ipod 1g
add me on fb https://www.facebook.com/muhmmad.isfar
or kik me @ isfiisfar

Offline johnngee

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
  • Whited00r iPod iPhone User
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2015, 01:40:00 PM »
thanks for the reply,first do i just copy the .deb file using itools into the cydia folder?there are 2 files in there,apt-7-lib_0.7.25.3-13_iphoeos-arm.deb and the other is cydia-lproj_1.1.12_iphoneos-arm.deb,do i just copy the .deb file into that folder with itools or do i need to delete one of those files first?
you also mention  install preference loader from bigboss repo ,where do i get that from or is it automatically installed?
Hope you have the patience to help me out with this please.

Managed to get whited00r7 installed ok,then updated my cellular network data so my phone could then load web data after following some basic guides,it was only those updated cydia files that have caused the problem.2 of them said were essential .
« Last Edit: February 07, 2015, 01:56:48 PM by johnngee »

Offline iTechy21

  • Bashing the shell
  • Global Moderator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1675
  • Country: gb
  • Well errr... Stuff :3
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2015, 08:11:30 PM »

thanks for the reply,first do i just copy the .deb file using itools into the cydia folder?there are 2 files in there,apt-7-lib_0.7.25.3-13_iphoeos-arm.deb and the other is cydia-lproj_1.1.12_iphoneos-arm.deb,do i just copy the .deb file into that folder with itools or do i need to delete one of those files first?
you also mention  install preference loader from bigboss repo ,where do i get that from or is it automatically installed?
Hope you have the patience to help me out with this please.

Managed to get whited00r7 installed ok,then updated my cellular network data so my phone could then load web data after following some basic guides,it was only those updated cydia files that have caused the problem.2 of them said were essential .
It's the cydia autoinstall folder
Follow me on twitter! | Subscribe to my YouTube Channel! | Follow my blog!
Please Read all the stickies if you're new. And follow the rules, please :)

Offline johnngee

  • Senior Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 32
  • Whited00r iPod iPhone User
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: (SOLVED) Mobile substrate problem on iOS 3.1.3 & iOS 4.x
« Reply #14 on: February 07, 2015, 08:37:02 PM »
cheers,had enough of having no phone for hours so went into PWNED DFU mode,restored it as new phone in itunes,phone running ok at the moment,not had any problems,will look at the cydia folder later,had enough of the thing for today.
thanks for the help and info about cydia,if problem comes back then will notify the forum and see if i need to do anything else.

one thing,tried the ipusher button to test if push notifications work and its been saying 'please wait' for the last hour.
Does that mean they probably don't work?If so what can be done to get them to work?if they are not working that is.