Author Topic: Weather 3.1.3  (Read 684 times)

Offline Las Pecas

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: 00
  • iPhone 3GS, iPhone 6, iPad mini 2, MacBook Air
    • View Profile
  • Device: Does Not Own iDevice ARMv6
  • My Computer: Mac
Weather 3.1.3
« on: March 07, 2016, 10:17:30 AM »
I'm having problems adding a location in weather.app (yes I know how it works ;-) ) on 3.1.3. It used to work, now the App doesn't find any location (tested on 2 devices). Anyone else with this Problem?

Offline iTechy21

  • Bashing the shell
  • Global Moderator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1675
  • Country: gb
  • Well errr... Stuff :3
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Weather 3.1.3
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2016, 05:25:26 PM »
I'm having problems adding a location in weather.app (yes I know how it works ;-) ) on 3.1.3. It used to work, now the App doesn't find any location (tested on 2 devices). Anyone else with this Problem?
After playing around I get this issue too :-\
I think it might be due to Yahoo changing the way their weather API works therefore meaning that the stock 3.1.3 app is no longer supported :( but there are a few other apps you can use in App Time Machine (I recommend ACCU weather as its great and actually readable on the small screens)
Follow me on twitter! | Subscribe to my YouTube Channel! | Follow my blog!
Please Read all the stickies if you're new. And follow the rules, please :)

Offline Las Pecas

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: 00
  • iPhone 3GS, iPhone 6, iPad mini 2, MacBook Air
    • View Profile
  • Device: Does Not Own iDevice ARMv6
  • My Computer: Mac
Re: Weather 3.1.3
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2016, 05:27:36 PM »
Problem is I need to set a location so the cydget I'm using is displaying weather on my lockscreen -.-

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Weather 3.1.3
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2016, 07:01:36 PM »
Did you disable the location services in the Whited00r Configurator?

Offline Las Pecas

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: 00
  • iPhone 3GS, iPhone 6, iPad mini 2, MacBook Air
    • View Profile
  • Device: Does Not Own iDevice ARMv6
  • My Computer: Mac
Re: Weather 3.1.3
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2016, 07:25:51 AM »
It's stock 3.1.3 running on a 3GS

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Weather 3.1.3
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2016, 09:59:29 PM »
It's stock 3.1.3 running on a 3GS

A 3GS?  Then I don't know what the issue is there, although if it is a 3GS (and not a 3G), then you could just update it to iOS 6.1.6 and it should work there.

Offline Las Pecas

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: 00
  • iPhone 3GS, iPhone 6, iPad mini 2, MacBook Air
    • View Profile
  • Device: Does Not Own iDevice ARMv6
  • My Computer: Mac
Re: Weather 3.1.3
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2016, 10:21:41 PM »
Because I want iOS 3 running on my phone.
Nevertheless it's about that weather used to work and now it doesn't anymore. Only thing is I want more confirmation about my/the problem

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Weather 3.1.3
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2016, 11:37:39 PM »
Because I want iOS 3 running on my phone.
Nevertheless it's about that weather used to work and now it doesn't anymore. Only thing is I want more confirmation about my/the problem

I'll charge up my 3G and check and see if I can get the weather here. It could be Yahoo finally did deprecate the API used in the 3.1.3 version of the app though.

Offline iTechy21

  • Bashing the shell
  • Global Moderator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1675
  • Country: gb
  • Well errr... Stuff :3
    • View Profile
    • My Blog
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Weather 3.1.3
« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2016, 04:29:37 PM »
I'll charge up my 3G and check and see if I can get the weather here. It could be Yahoo finally did deprecate the API used in the 3.1.3 version of the app though.
I restored whited00r (I normally do once every ~6 months) and with location services enabled it can't seem to grab any city by name or postcode (zip code :/ ) I think that's another app that has dropped support :'( I'll dig around and see what I can find...
Follow me on twitter! | Subscribe to my YouTube Channel! | Follow my blog!
Please Read all the stickies if you're new. And follow the rules, please :)

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Weather 3.1.3
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2016, 05:17:00 AM »
I restored whited00r (I normally do once every ~6 months) and with location services enabled it can't seem to grab any city by name or postcode (zip code :/ ) I think that's another app that has dropped support :'( I'll dig around and see what I can find...

You may still be able to modify the com.apple.weather.plist in /var/mobile/Library/Preferences to manually add a city, although I've not tried and figured it out 100% because I got caught up in other things while I was looking into it.

Offline Las Pecas

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: 00
  • iPhone 3GS, iPhone 6, iPad mini 2, MacBook Air
    • View Profile
  • Device: Does Not Own iDevice ARMv6
  • My Computer: Mac
Weather 3.1.3
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2016, 06:37:43 AM »
BIG UPDATE: weather.app is working again. Just tested :-D
(7:15 am Berlin time zone)

And 5 minutes later it's not working again. I was able to add two cities right after I booted my phone this morning
(7:20 am)

And it's again working and ongoing
(7:30 am)
« Last Edit: March 11, 2016, 08:59:30 AM by Las Pecas »

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Weather 3.1.3
« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2016, 10:03:13 PM »
BIG UPDATE: weather.app is working again. Just tested :-D
(7:15 am Berlin time zone)

And 5 minutes later it's not working again. I was able to add two cities right after I booted my phone this morning
(7:20 am)

And it's again working and ongoing
(7:30 am)

That's really strange, I wonder why it broke for everyone briefly? :o

Offline Las Pecas

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
  • Country: 00
  • iPhone 3GS, iPhone 6, iPad mini 2, MacBook Air
    • View Profile
  • Device: Does Not Own iDevice ARMv6
  • My Computer: Mac
Re: Weather 3.1.3
« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2016, 10:48:56 PM »
Who knows...
Maybe it's fixed because I complained and talked a lot with Apple and Yahoo!