Author Topic: What would I need to learn?  (Read 4218 times)

Offline applepie

  • Redd00r Developer
  • Developer
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1487
  • Country: 00
  • Dormant Beast
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 2G
  • My Computer: Mac
Re: What would I need to learn?
« Reply #15 on: September 17, 2011, 11:41:36 PM »
If you want XCode 4 you need an intel Mac that can run snow leopard or lion.

Offline Its_JoKer

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • whited00r.com
    • View Profile
Re: What would I need to learn?
« Reply #16 on: September 17, 2011, 11:58:45 PM »
what's the difference from Xcode 4 and the other versions?

Offline banana

  • Banana
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2432
  • Country: kp
  • Banana
    • View Profile
    • FinkMac's Blog!
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Mac
Re: What would I need to learn?
« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2011, 01:31:24 AM »
what's the difference from Xcode 4 and the other versions?

Take it from me, All you need to develop for iOS is a fairly recent PPC Mac… Xcode 4 isn't needed… I mean, I use 3.2…
Banana

Offline applepie

  • Redd00r Developer
  • Developer
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1487
  • Country: 00
  • Dormant Beast
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 2G
  • My Computer: Mac
Re: What would I need to learn?
« Reply #18 on: September 18, 2011, 01:37:46 AM »
You need a PPC G4 or better running Leopard or better at minimum (Xcode 3). Note that if you get one running Tiger, you will need to find a copy of leopard and upgrade, which costs about $125 (at least that was the cost when it came out).

Offline banana

  • Banana
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2432
  • Country: kp
  • Banana
    • View Profile
    • FinkMac's Blog!
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Mac
Re: What would I need to learn?
« Reply #19 on: September 18, 2011, 02:08:25 AM »
You need a PPC G4 or better running Leopard or better at minimum (Xcode 3). Note that if you get one running Tiger, you will need to find a copy of leopard and upgrade, which costs about $125 (at least that was the cost when it came out).

You can find copies of Leopard for far less than $125… and sometimes the Macs have Leopard installed already…
Banana

Offline Its_JoKer

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • whited00r.com
    • View Profile
Re: What would I need to learn?
« Reply #20 on: September 18, 2011, 05:28:40 PM »
I've seen a few iBook G4s on eBay with like a 1.33Ghz CPU, 60GB HDD, and 512MB RAM running OSX 10.5.8 which is Leopard I think. The HDD and RAM could be upgraded correct? The ones I saw were going for around $150 which isn't bad at all. I'm still thinking about this but I know that if I do get a Mac, I will definitely learn to make iOS tweaks, but I'm not sure if I really want to spend all my money right now on this. I have about $170 right now, I'm 14, no job, not really any way to get any more money so spending all of it will be kinda hard to do. What are some other good reasons to pick up an old Mac besides the dev part ofc. Something that will "push" me to go on and buy it cause I don't want to spend all my money in hopes of making iOS tweaks and apps and stuff and then find that I'm way in over my head and not be able to complete what I want to do.

Offline banana

  • Banana
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2432
  • Country: kp
  • Banana
    • View Profile
    • FinkMac's Blog!
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Mac
What would I need to learn?
« Reply #21 on: September 18, 2011, 07:55:00 PM »
Hmm… Well, it's a Unix-based computer… It can play DVDs… Most mainstream games have had PPC ports… It can run most of the PPC-only software that won't run on Intel Macs with Lion… It can run iTunes…

I'd ask people on the retromaccast forums…
« Last Edit: September 18, 2011, 07:59:40 PM by finkmac »
Banana

Offline Its_JoKer

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
  • whited00r.com
    • View Profile
Re: What would I need to learn?
« Reply #22 on: September 19, 2011, 01:54:19 AM »
I've posted two replies to this but neither of them show up? Whats goin on?