Author Topic: Wi-Fi Problems  (Read 2656 times)

Offline CoolBreeze

  • Need GFX? I might be able to help.
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2577
  • Country: 00
  • Here since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Wi-Fi Problems
« on: November 24, 2011, 05:11:03 PM »
I have an iPod Touch 1G WD 5 RC, and whenever i try to connect to a wi-fi network, it doesnt find it even when i know its there because im connected to it on my ipod touch 4g....

It will connect to the network though when i am standing next to the router.

Any ideas? :(

Offline applepie

  • Redd00r Developer
  • Developer
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1487
  • Country: 00
  • Dormant Beast
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 2G
  • My Computer: Mac
Re: Wi-Fi Problems
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2011, 05:37:19 PM »
Yeah I have this with an iphone 2g. Before installing whited00r, it wouldn't find any networks or it wouldn't connect longer than a few mins. With dp3, the wifi was perfect. It worked like a charm. Then I installed the release candidate, and now my problems are back :(

Offline CoolBreeze

  • Need GFX? I might be able to help.
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2577
  • Country: 00
  • Here since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Wi-Fi Problems
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2011, 05:45:10 PM »
Yeah I have this with an iphone 2g. Before installing whited00r, it wouldn't find any networks or it wouldn't connect longer than a few mins. With dp3, the wifi was perfect. It worked like a charm. Then I installed the release candidate, and now my problems are back :(

so your saying dp3 might work? because regular stock firmware didnt and neither did rc

Offline applepie

  • Redd00r Developer
  • Developer
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1487
  • Country: 00
  • Dormant Beast
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 2G
  • My Computer: Mac
Re: Wi-Fi Problems
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2011, 05:54:08 PM »
Not necessarily...
Before installing wd5 dp3 I jailbroke with jailbreak me and use the deb version and wifi also worked again...but I went to dp3 since it was too slow.

Offline CoolBreeze

  • Need GFX? I might be able to help.
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2577
  • Country: 00
  • Here since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Wi-Fi Problems
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2011, 07:58:01 PM »
im just gonna take it to apple (restore to stock so they dont know it was jailbroken :P)

Offline JusTiz

  • Herobrine
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1075
  • Country: kr
  • Twitter: @JusTiz_WD
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
Re: Wi-Fi Problems
« Reply #5 on: November 25, 2011, 01:01:20 AM »
im just gonna take it to apple (restore to stock so they dont know it was jailbroken :P)
thats the problem with apple and sometimes i wish they change your older device into newer one


[size=7.5pt]Follow me @ Twitter[/size]

Offline banana

  • Banana
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2432
  • Country: kp
  • Banana
    • View Profile
    • FinkMac's Blog!
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Mac
Re: Wi-Fi Problems
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2011, 01:14:02 AM »
Whats the problem with Apple?

I actually like that they still have inventory of the 1G!

When my home button breaks… I can go and get the same model!
Banana

Offline applepie

  • Redd00r Developer
  • Developer
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1487
  • Country: 00
  • Dormant Beast
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 2G
  • My Computer: Mac
Re: Wi-Fi Problems
« Reply #7 on: November 25, 2011, 01:43:45 AM »
I'm trying this..allowing you to access intenet via usb cable.
http://alk2blog.blogspot.com/2008/08/ssh-to-get-your-iphone-online-via-usb.html
It appears that you need itunes 9 or older for this......so new devices (eg. ipod touch 4g probably wont be able to sync, so if you have an old computer, you might want to use that)

EDIT: CRUD you need an active cell service so it wont work with an inactive sim nor an ipod touch
« Last Edit: November 25, 2011, 01:49:46 AM by applepie »

Offline CoolBreeze

  • Need GFX? I might be able to help.
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2577
  • Country: 00
  • Here since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPod Touch 1G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Wi-Fi Problems
« Reply #8 on: November 25, 2011, 03:05:50 AM »
im just gonna take it to apple (restore to stock so they dont know it was jailbroken :P)
thats the problem with apple and sometimes i wish they change your older device into newer one
I like my iPod touch 1g even though it has a huge crack over it an no wifi lol.... I use it for whited00r and testing