Author Topic: Firmware Faker  (Read 33974 times)

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Firmware Faker
« on: May 20, 2012, 08:14:38 PM »
Updated 8/5/2012

Change log:
1.2
-Now allows for reverting back to original firmware from within the app, if you have a firmware not listed there
-Now you can set a custom firmware/build version if you so desire :)
-Better code for reverting back to original firmware/build version

Have you ever thought to yourself "OHEHGEE I CAN INSTALL IOS4+ APPS ON MAI IPHONE/IPOD WITH WHITED00R NOA! :D" but then were so sad to see it didn't work? Well, some apps, maybe not any at all, but possibly a couple actually will work on your device. The developer of that app just didn't set the build to include it.  I highly doubt you will find any, but hey, who knows.  This also includes Cydia stuff.

Now, what this actually does, is change your SystemVersion and SystemBuildVersion to the firmware you specify, effectivly making all apps (including Cydia and the AppStore) think you are on whatever firmware.   THIS DOES NOT ACTUALLY MAKE YOUR DEVICE MAGICALLY RUN THE FIRMWARE! -I was unable to obtain any goblin urine for this

So, with this, you can trick your friends, or simply try in your futile and hopeless attempts to get apps to work.  I can almost 100% assure you it will NOT work. I simply am putting this out there for those few that know of ones that will.  For all I care, you can make a topic about ones you find.

All you need to do is install ch40s-utilities and all of that's dependancies, and then install this.  When choosing a firmware to spoof for the first time, you will be asked to allow root access (safety feature you will be seeing more of in future apps I make, that is built into ch40s-utilities) allow it.  If you don't, nothing will happen.  You must close out of the app and try again.  It may take a little while to get to the process, but it will work, hopefully within a minute (normally under 10 seconds).  As with LogoMii, wait a little bit after opening the app to actually select something ;) (like, maybe 5 seconds, to allow ch40s-launcher to start up).

Warnings:
Ok, some Cydia tweaks could screw up your device if you install them...  just as a warning. Why you ask? Because they are  NOT DESIGNED FOR 3.1.3!
If for some reason, you need to restore, change your spoofed firmware back to your original one! Otherwise you won't be able to restore properly!  I was stuck for hours trying to figure out why I couldn't restore, and realized my firmware was actually spoofed still!  I have put in a safety mechanism into this, using onBoot. If you can't get to your springboard, but your device kind of boots up, if it can boot to loading daemons, it will in fact change your spoofed firmware back to your original one (it made a backup of your original when you ran the app :P).  You can turn this off, but I would not recommend it.  All this will do is simply alert you when you boot up that your firmware is now spoofed to 3.1.3 or whatever.


I cannot and will NOT be held responsible for any damage done to your device by your stupidity and not heeding my warnings.  I am only providing a way for you to spoof your firmware. Anything you choose to do after this is your fault.  Ok?  Good.  Also, do NOT complain about stuff not working.  If you do, I shall smite thee.

thank you!  Comment, leave feedback, and suggestions! :D  Thanks :)


Needs ch40s-utilities.

Ch40s-Utilities:
http://www.whited00r.com/forum/index.php?topic=5412.0

Download:
http://www.mediafire.com/?btwsfdrte8b3e7z

Offline CPVideoMaker

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 445
  • Country: us
  • A lurker on these forums.
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Channel!
  • Device: iPod Touch 2G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2012, 08:42:06 PM »
I Just downloaded, now to put it on this iPhone 2G :D
Just here, back after being inactive for about a year... once more.

Offline e1sunz

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 131
  • Country: 00
    • View Profile
  • Device: Does Not Own iDevice ARMv6
  • My Computer: Other OS
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2012, 08:48:38 PM »
What does this actually do?

Offline Super_Hussain

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
  • Country: ca
  • iPwned my iPhwn!!
    • View Profile
    • Bl4ck0ut
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2012, 10:19:26 PM »
Yea what does it do? From the sound of it, it makes your device think it is on a different firmware from what it is. I will try it out after some more feedback :)

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2012, 12:31:36 AM »
Exactly right! :D. I will update the description soon :p. And probably add a video. And picture.  And a better description ;) I was in a hurry :p

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2012, 01:36:39 AM »
Updated the description :) I hope it explains a little better :P

Offline Super_Hussain

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
  • Country: ca
  • iPwned my iPhwn!!
    • View Profile
    • Bl4ck0ut
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2012, 03:06:19 AM »
Is there a place where you can find out compatible apps for this? I really want to get somethings like iTunes U but don't know if it will work.

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2012, 03:18:47 AM »
Trial and error I'm afraid.   If it doesn't work, it won't ever.   

Offline Super_Hussain

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
  • Country: ca
  • iPwned my iPhwn!!
    • View Profile
    • Bl4ck0ut
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2012, 03:20:32 AM »
Ok I guess I'll just have to try it out then :)
I'll let you guys know which apps work and which don't.

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2012, 03:24:43 AM »
You could make a topic ;) probably more low end stuff...

Offline Super_Hussain

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
  • Country: ca
  • iPwned my iPhwn!!
    • View Profile
    • Bl4ck0ut
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2012, 03:25:44 AM »
LOL ok. I will do that when I try out some apps first though :)

Offline Super_Hussain

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
  • Country: ca
  • iPwned my iPhwn!!
    • View Profile
    • Bl4ck0ut
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #11 on: May 21, 2012, 03:31:32 AM »
Sorry for double post but the bar on the top of the GUI reads Logomii. You might want to change that in future updates but it really doesn't matter. Also this is working really nicely! I spoofed my iPhone 3G to be iOS 4.3.3!!

Offline Super_Hussain

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
  • Country: ca
  • iPwned my iPhwn!!
    • View Profile
    • Bl4ck0ut
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #12 on: May 21, 2012, 03:40:14 AM »
OMG SOMETHING HAPPENED D:
When I rebooted and allowed root access it reads...
"WTF
Your current version is higher than the available OTA one. Device will self destruct in... 'BOOM'"
I know that is the off the air updates message but I just like to say it's a cool message xD
Sorry about spamming again xD

Offline bloomaze

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
  • Country: 00
  • YAY IM BACK:)
    • View Profile
  • Device: Does Not Own iDevice ARMv6
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #13 on: May 21, 2012, 05:57:42 AM »
So you're device is broken?

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Firmware Faker
« Reply #14 on: May 21, 2012, 11:08:56 AM »
Haha no :p his device is fine.   That's the error message I gave for my ota program if it finds out the version online is lower than the version installed.   You might get that occasionally :p. It is happening I think because of a spelling errors on my part of the ota location ;) but I can fix that still I think :P
And yeah, I noticed it says logomii as well :/  i will fix it :P. First real test of ota anyone? :D. I might have time to fix it today ;)