Author Topic: What happens to my old Apps that are no longer available ?  (Read 7229 times)

Offline Dave.G6HNI

• View Profile
What happens to my old Apps that are no longer available ?
« on: December 18, 2012, 02:01:37 PM »
Guys, I'm a total novice at this, so please be gentle.

I have a really old version of Whitedoor on my iPhone 2G but I would like to try the new v6.

The thing is a lot of the apps I have on my iPhone are no longer available in the iTunes App store, or have been upgraded such that the new versions won't work on my old phone :(

If I follow the instructions for a clean install and don't then recover my apps from the backup how will I get them back onto my iPhone ???

I have saved most of the .ipa's to a safe place, but some are only on my iPhone and I have never tried installing them back onto the iPhone.

Thanks, Dave.

Offline auerbach0815

• ...on nobody's side, because nobody is on my side
    • View Profile
    • digitalvandalism
Re: What happens to my old Apps that are no longer available ?
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2012, 04:15:51 PM »
you can sync your apps back later (after Installation) ...afaik this has nothing to do with "backup" !

give it a try ! you know about 3store ?!
What counts is not necessarily the size of the dog in the fight its the size of the fight in the dog.
Dwight D. Eisenhower (1890-1969)

Offline Dave.G6HNI

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2012, 09:08:25 PM »
Hi, 3store is part of Whited00r5 isn't it, I only have Whited00r4.1 :(

When you say "you can sync the apps later" how/where will it sync them from, because a lot of the apps are now too new to work with iOS3.1.3 ???

I mistakingly allowed iTunes to update my apps before I discouvered that the updates would no longer work with iOS3.

So the only working copy of many of my apps is on my iPhone !

Offline tartilc

• SuperHero Member
  • The Only Member That <3s Potatoes ;D
    • View Profile
    • TC Trapper
  • Device: iPod Touch 2G