Author Topic: Whited00r 6 - GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband 05.13.04, 05.15.04 & 06.15.00  (Read 95354 times)

Offline PierreP

  • WD FAQ Maker
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2027
  • Country: cr
  • Everything is Relative
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: iPhone 3G - no GPS - 05.15.04 / 05.12.01
« Reply #210 on: August 15, 2013, 06:14:43 AM »
...i installed whited00r 6 (normal) on my official unlocked iphone 3g. nearly everything is fine, but the gps does not work...

GPS satellite works in Whited00r on iPhone 3G and all basebands (General > About > Modem firmware) 5.12, 5.13 & if factory unlocked: 5.14 & 5.15. The only exception is if you have the iPad baseband 06.15.

Please read post #1 in this thread and use one the GPS apps to test it as the Native Maps returns a "Your location could not be determined" error in about 1 minute because a-GPS (Assited GPS) does not work in Whited00r or any iOS below 4 because Apple broke the URL of the database of known WiFi's IP.

After you get a lock on some satellites then if you open Maps it will show you location.

We are working on a fix for the next WD but it's not ready yet so we cannot announce a launch date yet so please don't ask.  ;)

Offline pietzke69

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: de
  • Whited00r iPod iPhone User
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Whited00r 6 - GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband 05.13.04, 05.15.04 & 06.15.00
« Reply #211 on: August 15, 2013, 08:12:29 AM »
okay thanks. i am gonna try to check these gps-apps. i am trying to reinstall withed00r and in this case i am trying to downgrade 5.15.04 --> ipad-baseband --> 05.13.04 but redsn0w is hanging in "waiting for reboot".....

so if gps seems to work in ios 4.2.1, there is no hardware-bug?! or is this "gps-signal" just out of the wifi/3g?



"und Auf Wiedersehen für jetzt!" is great! :-)

edit: i am gonna check wd with 05.15.04 and these gps-apps..
« Last Edit: August 15, 2013, 08:24:00 AM by pietzke69 »

Offline PierreP

  • WD FAQ Maker
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2027
  • Country: cr
  • Everything is Relative
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Whited00r 6 - GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband 05.13.04, 05.15.04 & 06.15.00
« Reply #212 on: August 15, 2013, 08:28:40 AM »
...i am trying to downgrade 5.15.04 --> ipad-baseband --> 05.13.04 but redsn0w is hanging in "waiting for reboot".....

so if gps seems to work in ios 4.2.1, there is no hardware-bug?! or is this "gps-signal" just out of the wifi/3g?

"...so if gps seems to work in ios 4.2.1, there is no hardware-bug?" - Correct. But don't confuse the GPS chipset and the Maps app. See post #1 and the links in it.

You wrote above ...i tried whited00r 6 with 05.15.04 - If your SIM worked on 5.15 baseband and you could make calls then you have a iPhone 3G Factory Unlocked so you should use the Whited00r Normal version.

No need to mess around changing the baseband in your case because only users with a carrier locked iPhone need to do that. I would install stock iOS 4.2.1 using iTunes and let it install the stock baseband that comes with 4.2.1: 05.15.04 in your case.

Then if you absolutely need Maps, stay there.

Quick approximate location in Maps & Location Services (Core location framework) does not work in Whited00r 6.  :-\

I tested w/ all basebands using the GPS apps (post #1) and in all cases GPS works on my Phone 3G running Whited00r 6 except for the iPad bb and will not re-write post #1 here, sorry.

"i am trying to downgrade 5.15.04 --> ipad-baseband --> 05.13.04 but redsn0w is hanging in "waiting for reboot"..." - This is the proper on topic thread about modem firmware (or baseband) messing around: [Solved] iPhone 3G iOS 4.2.1 Stuck in Baseband 05.15.04 - No Service - What to do if you have that baseband and want to install whited00r 6 Unlocked version to be able to use any SIM.

Offline Axel 4

  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 123
  • Country: ro
  • Whited00r iPod iPhone User
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband Upgrading & Downgrading
« Reply #213 on: August 16, 2013, 05:41:51 PM »
did you try to upgrade to 06.15.00 baseband,after downgrade to 05.13.04 on 4.2.1 or 4.1 firmware
it worked for me
after doing this you will have to restore whited00r again

Offline PierreP

  • WD FAQ Maker
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2027
  • Country: cr
  • Everything is Relative
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband Upgrading & Downgrading
« Reply #214 on: August 17, 2013, 04:39:44 AM »
did you try to upgrade to 06.15.00 baseband,after downgrade to 05.13.04 on 4.2.1 or 4.1 firmware
it worked for me
after doing this you will have to restore whited00r again


No, no, no! This will not fix  a-GPS in Maps as described in post #1 for Whited00r 6 or iOS 3.1.3 because the problem is not related to the baseband except if you have the iPad 06.15.00 one that does not enable the GPS chipset.

That modem firmware Upgrading & Downgrading is required only for users with a carrier locked iPhone 3G as explained in this How-to: [Solved] iPhone 3G iOS 4.2.1 Stuck in Baseband 05.15.04 - No Service - What to do if you have that baseband and want to install whited00r 6 Unlocked version to be able to use any SIM.

Offline highhacker

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
  • Whited00r iPod iPhone User
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Location problem whited00r 6
« Reply #215 on: August 31, 2013, 11:06:49 PM »
Oh right, the link is still down :(   I can't fix that link, all I can do is email people who can change it, and I have done that twice and had no response :/
could the admin please post this file on another file share service. i have been trying for days to download this and it keeps stopping  :( Dropbox please. I am stuck until i get this no signal fix on the freakin ipad bb upgrade 3g....

Connection to the server was reset ...AAHHHHH for the 50th time . takes three hours and almost get it them this . put it somewhere else please.anyone.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2013, 11:17:19 PM by highhacker »

Offline highhacker

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
  • Whited00r iPod iPhone User
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Whited00r 6 - GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband 05.13.04, 05.15.04 & 06.15.00
« Reply #216 on: September 01, 2013, 03:09:55 PM »
the fact is gps did work on ipad baseband with 4.2.1. I am not the only one who sees this. the fact is after days of upgrading and downgrading to 05.13.04 with 3.1.3 and whited00r6 unlocked i have tremendous battery loss no service no gps .. but if i flash a stock 4.2.1 i get the blue gps arrow on all baseband including 06.15.00 ipad upgrade so you are incorrect . I am stuck with whited00r6 no matter how many clean installs i do it don't work for me on our 3g . I just turn off phone and use it as an ipod for music . when are we going to see a fix to spoof 4.3.3. like my ipod 2g which is on 4.3.3 . i miss cows and aliens..
« Last Edit: September 01, 2013, 03:13:50 PM by highhacker »

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Whited00r 6 - GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband 05.13.04, 05.15.04 & 06.15.00
« Reply #217 on: September 01, 2013, 06:02:08 PM »
the fact is gps did work on ipad baseband with 4.2.1. I am not the only one who sees this. the fact is after days of upgrading and downgrading to 05.13.04 with 3.1.3 and whited00r6 unlocked i have tremendous battery loss no service no gps .. but if i flash a stock 4.2.1 i get the blue gps arrow on all baseband including 06.15.00 ipad upgrade so you are incorrect . I am stuck with whited00r6 no matter how many clean installs i do it don't work for me on our 3g . I just turn off phone and use it as an ipod for music . when are we going to see a fix to spoof 4.3.3. like my ipod 2g which is on 4.3.3 . i miss cows and aliens..

Not true GPS, aGPS/location by cell towers/wifi.  The iPhoneWiki also says it breaks GPS< not location services. 06.15.00 - The iPhone Wiki/

It appears broken on 3.1.3 though because of location services that it used is broken now and no longer used.  In iOS4 it was changed to what is still supported by apple for location services.

Unless you tested by using an app for GPS only, not the maps app as that taps into the aGPS and the like (not true GPS.  GPS works without cell connection/internet).

Offline PierreP

  • WD FAQ Maker
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2027
  • Country: cr
  • Everything is Relative
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
iPad Baseband 06.15.00 Does Not Enable the GPS Chipset
« Reply #218 on: September 01, 2013, 06:06:09 PM »
the fact is gps did work on ipad baseband with 4.2.1...

That is simply impossible because that baseband was made for an iPad that DID NOT have a GPS chipset so it was never enabled by Apple in that modem firmware.

What you are seeing is Location Services using cellular antennas triangulation, known WiFi locations database look-up (Assisted GPS or aGPS) as explained in post #1 of this thread and the cache found in your iPhone in: /private/var/root/Library/Caches/locationd.

As Brian wrote above unless you use one of the real GPS apps described in post #1, you are not testing the GPS chipset only when using the native Maps app.

Those screen captures were made on my iPhone 3G running Whited00r 6 and as you can see the GPS satellite feature works:



Some of that cellular antennas triangulation & known WiFi locations location data (aGPS) is copied to your computer when you connect to iTunes and copied back to the device after a restore & connecting back to iTunes.

Try this to see what I am talking about: iOSTracker.Net for Windows "displays the recorded location information from your iOS version 4.X Devices Backups on your computer that were done by iTunes".






Or iPhone Tracker for Mac OS: "This open-source application maps the information that your iPhone is recording about your movements. It doesn't record anything itself, it only displays files that are already hidden on your computer."




If you do not want to be tracked then you could read this: ;) [Paranoia] Stealth Wear - Anti NSA & CIA Spying & Tracking Gear

Offline floutz

  • Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: fr
  • Whited00r iPod iPhone User
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Whited00r 6 - GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband 05.13.04, 05.15.04 & 06.15.00
« Reply #219 on: October 25, 2013, 07:47:09 PM »
Hello,
I also have the GPS problem after installing WD6 normal on my iphone 3g. Everything works fine except the GPS ... So I tried the method for GPS FIX LaunchDaemons but in my case I have nothing? Is this normal? I put the file in the folder but it did not solved the problem (I could change anything in permissions and ownerships, I do not know what to change!). Is what I have to do something else? Thank you for your help.

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Whited00r 6 - GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband 05.13.04, 05.15.04 & 06.15.00
« Reply #220 on: October 25, 2013, 08:04:45 PM »
Hello,
I also have the GPS problem after installing WD6 normal on my iphone 3g. Everything works fine except the GPS ... So I tried the method for GPS FIX LaunchDaemons but in my case I have nothing? Is this normal? I put the file in the folder but it did not solved the problem (I could change anything in permissions and ownerships, I do not know what to change!). Is what I have to do something else? Thank you for your help.

Welcome to the forums :)

What is your baseband?

Offline floutz

  • Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: fr
  • Whited00r iPod iPhone User
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Whited00r 6 - GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband 05.13.04, 05.15.04 & 06.15.00
« Reply #221 on: October 25, 2013, 08:09:33 PM »
Thanks for your fast answer
my bb is 05.15.04

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Whited00r 6 - GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband 05.13.04, 05.15.04 & 06.15.00
« Reply #222 on: October 25, 2013, 08:14:22 PM »
Thanks for your fast answer
my bb is 05.15.04

No, you shouldn't have to change anything else.  Have you tried the MotionX GPS tests?

Offline floutz

  • Junior Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Country: fr
  • Whited00r iPod iPhone User
    • View Profile
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Windows
Re: Whited00r 6 - GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband 05.13.04, 05.15.04 & 06.15.00
« Reply #223 on: October 25, 2013, 08:30:34 PM »
yes but it does not work it does not find satellite. it locates me only if I put in wifi. I tried GPSinfo!, It locates me with WLAN method but never with the GPS as it is shown in the post. Is that there is nothing to change in permissions com.apple.locationd.plist file? In tab propiaetary its root selected and in the tab group is wheel is that it's good? sorry for my english...

Offline Bruan

  • Feature Developer
  • Administrator
  • SuperHero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13082
  • Country: 00
  • Methuselah
    • View Profile
    • Bruan_WD Twitter
  • Device: iPhone 3G
  • My Computer: Linux
Re: Whited00r 6 - GPS problem iPhone 3G Baseband 05.13.04, 05.15.04 & 06.15.00
« Reply #224 on: October 25, 2013, 10:35:15 PM »
yes but it does not work it does not find satellite. it locates me only if I put in wifi. I tried GPSinfo!, It locates me with WLAN method but never with the GPS as it is shown in the post. Is that there is nothing to change in permissions com.apple.locationd.plist file? In tab propiaetary its root selected and in the tab group is wheel is that it's good? sorry for my english...

Ah that may be it, check another daemon in the folder as they are all the same.  If it has the same ownerships and permissions it should be working :/