Whited00r Forum

Development - iOS Custom Firmware => Whited00r Development - New Apps & Features => Topic started by: Bruan on July 22, 2012, 02:12:20 AM

Title: Override
Post by: Bruan on July 22, 2012, 02:12:20 AM
Updated 10/22/2012
And, again, another app. This time it is simpler, and a lot cleaner than Regenerate ;)  Although, it really does something completely different.  Ever wanted to enable/disable substrates at will? Well, now you can. Normally, you either had to manually disable them, or else use sbsettings to do it. Well, now, it isn't needed.  You simply install this app, and you can "override" the dylib running :).

Change log:
0.6
-Added always enabled section (full version)
-Couple more options under extras (full version)
-hopefully fixed crashes on older devices.
-better license system


0.4
-Count substrates
-Better GUI
-Faster execution of code
-More stable, using the new Ch40s-Utilities
0.3
-Now it should detect when a user upgrades a disabled substrate, and alert the user that they have done so, prompting for action
-Also detects if a substrate has been removed, prompting the user to delete the disabled file.
-Rounded the icon just a little bit more ;)

Instructions
install this from the repo at the bottom of this post, as well as update to the latest Ch40s-Utilities (really smart, as otherwise it won't work)
Open the app, allow root access both times it asks.  It may crash the first time, simply reopen it.

To enable a substrate, turn the switch to "On" for that toggle.
To disable a substrate, turn the switch to "Off" for that toggle.

before uninstalling any substrate, make sure to enable it using the app!.

Known bugs
When upgrading, every substrate will be enabled.

About:
This is the trial version of the full app, contact me if you want a full version for yourself and I will put the key on the server (Just need a few people to test this out ;) ).
I will be trying to submit this to ModMyi at some point in the future when I can get a bank account, as a paid app.  You can, however, use it on the weekends and always enable all substrates even when the trial is over (which will always be open on the weekends, as well as a pirate license I have put in for people :P ).


I also want to add in a section for "Always Enabled" like I did in DylibPWN :P  and some more things maybe. I want to keep it simple though ;)

(http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc407/bcooperizcool/IMG_0561-1.jpg)(http://i1210.photobucket.com/albums/cc407/bcooperizcool/Default.png)

Please consider donating to show support! :D
http://bit.ly/h6D77k



my repo
http://bcooperizcool.indigo.dragon-dev.co.uk/waffles
Title: Override BETA
Post by: applepie on July 22, 2012, 02:49:25 AM
I've been waiting for this! AWESOME! Works great

Ps. How did you get the alert without the button, I've been trying to do it for redd00r, but I can't figure it out..
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: Bruan on July 22, 2012, 02:52:24 AM
Actually, it won't work great... I forgot something ;) but not in this. In Ch40s-launcher. I am putting up a fix for this now :)

sbalert -t "meh" -m "hello" -d ""
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: Bruan on July 24, 2012, 12:24:44 AM
Updated with better graphics. If you like the old ones more, then stay on that version ;)
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: aimout21 on July 24, 2012, 11:45:06 PM
Another great job bcooperizcool! I'm going to use this a lot. :P
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: wejhvabewjty on July 25, 2012, 05:13:33 PM
Installed, but always crashes a few seconds after it's launch.
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: Bruan on July 25, 2012, 05:16:56 PM
did you install Ch40s-Utilities successfully? did you allow root access when it asked for it?
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: SmarterChild on July 25, 2012, 05:54:35 PM
How can I get iOS 5.1.1 Buttons to Redd00r 4.2.1 !! |Download LINK| Please!
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: Bruan on July 25, 2012, 06:13:32 PM
Oh, haha, see how the screenshot is like four times as big as the logo?  I took the screenshot on my iPod touch 4 ;) I haven't even tried it on my iPhone yet :P  I don't really need to, seeing I am pretty sure it works on every firmware :)
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: Kosciak on July 28, 2012, 06:40:58 PM
Whoa, only thing I need now is simple .deb uninstaller… So I could delete CyDelete ;)
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: Bruan on July 29, 2012, 12:35:19 AM
Might be able to do that :)
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: iOSCrackandHack on July 29, 2012, 03:39:10 AM
hey my friend had an issue with Ch40's utilities when he installed the most recent one it installed FW Faker as well and he is running 5.1.1 and wanted to get the iOS 6 settings layout and the firmware faker was going to take of his Rocky Raccoon 5.1.1 untethered.deb thats in cydia and he wasnt able to change his build back and even when he turned onboot off for it it would still change his firmware and he was forced to restore. (sorry if this is the wrong place for this) is it supposed to do that??
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: Bruan on July 29, 2012, 03:47:51 AM
He installed the firmware faker by mistake.  There is no way it would install it as well.  Literally nothing i make depends on the firmware faker. Uninstalling the firmware faker resets the firmware back to normal though. (dpkg -r com.bcooperizcool.firmwarefaker or whatever it is). It is meant for 3.1.3 and 4.2.1 firmwares.   As for the iOS 6 preferences, that has only been tested on 3.x iPhone. There is so much ground to cover to get the cells right on every firmware
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: iOSCrackandHack on July 29, 2012, 03:54:04 AM
well i personally used the iOS 6 preferences so i could get my do not disturb back (i was on iOS 6 also found that there is a new equalizer called late night mode pretty awesome) but i dont he said it installed with Ch40's utilities but he didnt know how to delete manually i know how to fix packages but thats about it.
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: Bruan on July 29, 2012, 12:09:35 PM
If it installed with ch40s-utilities and he claims he didn't install it by accident then he is not saying the entire truth :/. Because it isn't a dependency of ch40s-utilities, otherwise I wouldn't be able to install ch40s-utilities on my device without it ;) and I don't have it.
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: Bruan on July 30, 2012, 12:02:36 AM
Override is really cool! i really wanna start developing using ch40util ;) do you got any source codes available for a little start? im in love with ch40util :D and why dont you add ch40util in a populair cydia repo? like modmyi?

thanks :) Uhhhmmmm  I think I might have left logomii open to use, or bootsound :) but those both don't use the actual GUI generation and stuff...  I'm also slowly writing tutorials at http://bcooperizcool.bplaced.net

as for the repos, well, I don't think they like me :/ I have tried modmyi once a while back, admittedly it was buggier then ;) they don't like root access stuff, or shell that much it seems (although now I have implemented a safer way, and it asks for root access :) so its not running without permission), and then bigboss, and they really don't like me there, and then modmyi recently, and they haven't responded.
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: Bruan on July 30, 2012, 11:19:35 AM
A simple one would be any app really :) take the one from override and just change stuff to suit you app :) (change the code in preferences launch, because I have it point to a custom script for the dynamic GUI)
Title: Re: Override BETA
Post by: Bruan on July 30, 2012, 02:27:39 PM
as the tutorial says, you just need the basic files :)
Title: Re: Override BETA 3
Post by: Bruan on August 05, 2012, 04:23:04 PM
Updated the main post with a new better, safer version :)
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on September 29, 2012, 11:52:03 PM
Updated again, now in a repo :) also new features, as well as a licensing system :) (which I will change if people crack it, as well as changing the method of compiling, and forcing me to add in features which people who would steal the app want :P )
Title: Re: Override
Post by: aimout21 on September 30, 2012, 12:04:43 AM
Just updated ;D

Really nice update though, it seems a lot more stable now! :)
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on September 30, 2012, 12:08:54 AM
Just updated ;D

Really nice update though, it seems a lot more stable now! :)
Thanks :) I tried my hardest to slim down on the code for speed :) (also, out of interest, does it say "Fetching license" when opening? It should :P )
Title: Re: Override
Post by: aimout21 on September 30, 2012, 12:09:24 AM
Yeah it does. :D
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on September 30, 2012, 12:49:06 AM
Yeah it does. :D
did you want to be able to use all the features? :)  PM me if so :)
Title: Re: Override
Post by: aimout21 on September 30, 2012, 03:18:59 PM
Yeah I'd love to. :D. I'll pm you.
Title: Re: Override
Post by: benben19950723 on October 16, 2012, 08:48:43 AM
I installed Override from your indigo repo and it crashed after starting a few seconds. Im on my iPod Touch 2G MB with iOS 4.2.1 Redd00r.
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on October 16, 2012, 01:16:18 PM
Hmmm.... did it pop up asking for root access?
Actually, did you update ch40s-utilities?
Title: Re: Override
Post by: ja3il on October 16, 2012, 07:38:35 PM
i cant install ch40s-utilities on your new repo
i get an error
depend sbutili , i think
Title: Override
Post by: benben19950723 on October 16, 2012, 10:27:29 PM
Hmmm.... did it pop up asking for root access?
Actually, did you update ch40s-utilities?
Yeah, updated it from your repo then installed Override from there too. It did ask me for root excess. But after that it stays at the Override starting page for a few seconds then it closes itself.
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on October 17, 2012, 01:00:44 AM
i cant install ch40s-utilities on your new repo
i get an error
depend sbutili , i think
yeah, sorry, you can get it from my Ch40s-utilities thread (sbutils)


Hmmm.... did it pop up asking for root access?
Actually, did you update ch40s-utilities?
Yeah, updated it from your repo then installed Override from there too. It did ask me for root excess. But after that it stays at the Override starting page for a few seconds then it closes itself.
Did it only ask once right? (it should have only asked once)...   Can you look in /Applications/Override.app and tell me the files you see in there please?
Title: Override
Post by: benben19950723 on October 17, 2012, 06:43:47 AM
Yeah, it asked for permission once. There's Default.png, Default2.png, Default4.png, Default5.png, Default_alt.png, icon.png, Preferences, Preferences_Launch, Settings-iPod.plist, Settings-iPhone.plist and Settings.plist in the Override.app.
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on October 17, 2012, 11:29:06 AM
Hmmmmm... It has all the files needed... Umm... Can you try opening Settings-iPhone.plist using ifile? And tell me if it comes up with an error? That's the only thing I can think of ;)  if you can tell me the error that would be nice too :)
Title: Override
Post by: benben19950723 on October 17, 2012, 12:42:44 PM
Unfortunately there's no error with the Settings-iPhone.plist and Settings-iPod.plist too.
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on October 17, 2012, 02:41:18 PM
Well now that is really odd...  and you ran it with wifi on?  Did it ever ask you to save or always ask for a password?
Ok, well, good and bad news.  It isn't just you ;) I'm getting that problem too. So it isn't just you, but it does mean I need to fix more stuff :(
Title: Re: Override
Post by: ja3il on October 17, 2012, 04:49:04 PM
i cant install ch40s-utilities on your new repo
i get an error
depend sbutili , i think
yeah, sorry, you can get it from my Ch40s-utilities thread (sbutils)


why you dont put it on your new repo?
i cant install it
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on October 17, 2012, 05:11:18 PM
I will put it up there the next time I update my repo, if I remember :)
Title: Override
Post by: benben19950723 on October 18, 2012, 05:46:04 AM
Well now that is really odd...  and you ran it with wifi on?  Did it ever ask you to save or always ask for a password?
Ok, well, good and bad news.  It isn't just you ;) I'm getting that problem too. So it isn't just you, but it does mean I need to fix more stuff :(
Nope, it just asked me for permission to let it run or not only.
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on October 22, 2012, 01:36:14 AM
Ok, I finally updated it, and it *should* work better/faster now.  It seems to be working stably, aside from the first time it accepted a valid license.  (no worries to you, as you all have the trial/pirate license :P).

Sorry for the wait, I had to do it on my iPhone 2g, because it was working fine on my iPod touch 4, and my iPhone has issues with wifi... so it was a lot slower for the testing. In the cycles of when it had wifi though, it seemed to be happy :)  Please report any errors ;)  have fun :) 

Also, make sure you update your sources in cydia, otherwise you won't see the update :P  also I put sbutils on there, hope that doesn't cause issues...  ah well :P
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Kosciak on November 15, 2012, 07:13:42 PM
Installed it with newest Ch40s. Asked for password during Cydia installing. Run it (asked for root), pressed button "check license" (or somthing similar). Few UIAlertView, respring… And now, Override won't work anymore. Crashes soon after opening. (Nice graphic, thought!)
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on November 15, 2012, 07:17:29 PM
Did you enter a password? (Doesn't matter what, it just further encrypts the udid). You allowed root right?

What firmware/device?  and how many substrates do you have?
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Kosciak on November 16, 2012, 06:48:17 AM
iPhone 3G, 4.2.1 with BiteSMS, Springotimze, Activator, Notifed and SAM… well and that's probably everything. ;) It didn't answered. Only during installing. ;)
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on November 16, 2012, 02:28:22 PM
Well it's crashing for me too, so it's not just you, and there is a lot of hope for being able to fix it :)
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Kosciak on November 16, 2012, 10:05:19 PM
I hope it will work, it's one of things that I'm missing :/
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on November 16, 2012, 10:06:33 PM
I hope it will work, it's one of things that I'm missing :/
I think I found the bug, but I'm not sure. I will look into it.  Odd that it crashed right away though :/ 
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Kosciak on November 16, 2012, 10:08:29 PM
Waiting, waitng, waiting! :D Hope that crash is just a mistake at work :D
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on November 16, 2012, 10:21:46 PM
it was, you should be able to get around it by adding in
<key>Valid</key>
<string>CheckLicense</string>
To /var/mobile/Library/Preferences/com.bcooperizcool.override.plist
(underneath a <true/> )
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Kosciak on November 17, 2012, 08:46:54 AM
Will test it right now! :D
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on November 18, 2012, 02:17:32 AM
I need to set up my tablet again :/ bleh. Good news is I got ubuntu on it though :)
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Kosciak on November 19, 2012, 03:55:26 PM
On Android Tablet? Ubuntu? HOW!?
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on November 19, 2012, 04:54:35 PM
The wonders of hacking ;) I had to stray from the guide a bit to get a jelly bean ROM working with it though.
Google tf101 Ubuntu :)
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Kosciak on November 19, 2012, 07:01:58 PM
Override doesn't work. Proccess repeated. I can check for license, but it doesn't work anymore.
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on November 19, 2012, 07:07:34 PM
well I haven't fixed the issue yet or looked into it. I'm just downloading all my source code to my tablet as I am typing this. (got all the editors and stuff installed already).

So you added in the CheckLicense thing?
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on November 19, 2012, 11:04:49 PM
Ok, should hopefully be fixed. I would remove it first, and then install it again, rather than upgrading. (due to the way I did it. Otherwise you might get a message about Santa not loving you, and that might upset people)
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Kosciak on November 20, 2012, 09:10:42 PM
Due to Santa… Okey do it. :D
Title: Re: Override
Post by: Bruan on November 20, 2012, 09:18:20 PM
I think I fixed the issue with Santa ;) don't know what was causing it, but it seems to have gone away...  I didn't change the version number, I put it up about an hour ago or so...